Drunk driving laws in California are similar to many other DUI laws across the United States. California’s DUI law prohibits a person from driving when they have a concentration of .08 percent or more alcohol in their blood system. This is the standard measurement used by all states for the “impaired” driver. Under-aged drivers can be charged with a DUI for even the smallest traces of alcohol in their system, and the 0.08 limit can also vary depending on if you are driving a commercial vehicle.
While many Californians are aware of these laws, did you know that you can also be arrested and charged for DUI if your BAC is under 0.08 percent? Did you know that if the police officer didn’t follow certain procedures that your case could get dismissed? Did you know that if the device that was used to do your testing was not calibrated properly that it could lead to your case being reduced?
The attorneys at Kundani & Chang LLP are former prosecutors who have handled hundreds and hundreds of DUI cases. We know what to look for in evaluating your case and fighting for you. We know what the prosecutor needs to prove and we have a long history of success in the courtroom. Just ask around.
Being arrested for DUI of alcohol and/or drugs in California can be a confusing, intimidating, and demanding experience. Not all DUI penalties or charges are the same. Depending on your age, license type, and any previous convictions, you could face:
- License suspension
- Jail time or community service
- DUI school
- Installation of an ignition interlock device (IID)
- SR-22 filing
DUI cases cannot be, and should not be, taken lightly. Even first-time offenses can include serious repercussions like license suspension for 30 days to 10 months, as well as fines exceeding $1,000 and jail time for up to 6 months. The consequences for multiple offenses are greater still with longer suspensions, higher fines and more jail time. There are also severe DMV consequences that can follow a DUI conviction, which would affect your ability to drive to work or operate a motor vehicle. For example, California Law requires you to contest the DMV’s suspension of your license and request a DMV hearing within 10 days of your arrest, or your hearing right is relinquished. But even if the 10 days has passed, our attorneys can still help you obtain a restricted licensed, if you meet the requirements, allowing you to drive to and from work after 30 days.
In California, a conviction for drunk driving will leave an individual facing far-reaching consequences which can negatively impact your career, employment opportunities, reputation, every aspect of your life. It is critical that you consult with an attorney immediately when facing charges for drunk driving. While prosecutors must prove that you were operating a vehicle while under the influence, and prove this fact beyond a reasonable doubt, a conviction will leave you facing serious penalties.
At Kundani & Chang LLP, our attorneys understand that the trial process can be a difficult one, and so our legal team is comprised of experienced and knowledgeable criminal defense attorneys that understand California’s criminal justice system. We will work tirelessly to achieve the best possible results for our clients, whether they are lesser penalties, an acquittal, or a complete dismissal of charges.
CALIFORNIA THREE STRIKES LAW
California’s three strikes law delivers certain sentences to people who commit multiple serious and violent felonies, specifically, upon a “third strike,” a convict receives a life sentence with the possibility of parole only after 25 years. Some California DUI offenses fall under the Three Strikes Law. These include the most serious offenses. If your case falls under the Three Strikes Law, don’t try to navigate the court system alone; seek legal representation as soon as possible.
The Orange County DUI attorneys at Kundani & Chang LLP will fight on your behalf. Whether challenging the legality of your traffic stop, arrest, or breathalyzer results, or negotiating a reduced plea or a deferred sentence that will keep you out of jail and keep a conviction off your record, we will explore every option for the best outcome to your case. For a free consultation contact our office today.